Legislative Action Coalition (LAC)


The Legislative Action Coalition (LAC) is a group of parents and community members
who advocate on behalf of Robbinsdale Area Schools
for students, families and community members on education.

Making Sense

September 26, 2017

Tom Melcher, Program Finance Director for the MN Department of Education and
leading expert on public school funding

Tom Melcher, Program Finance Director for the MN Department of Education, provided an informative and engaging presentation on "Making Sense of Public School Funding." Community members of the west metro gained an understanding of the complicated, and at times challenging, education funding system.  Melcher explained the various sources of funding, how the funding formulas work, the impact of inflation and the special education cross-subsidy.

The evening was co-sponsored by the Legislative Action Coalitions (LAC) of the Robbinsdale, Hopkins, Wayzata and Orono public school districts.

Download a PDF of "Making Sense of Public School Funding"

Tom Melcher's presentation was taped but unfortunately the audio didn't work.

 Keep In the Loop

You can stay up-to-date on what's happening at the Capitol, both exciting and concerning, with these links:

For more information on how you can get involved with the Legislative Action Coalition (LAC), please contact Linda Johnson at 763-504-4087 or linda_johnson@rdale.org.

2017 Legislative Platform for Robbinsdale Area Schools

The Election Is Over...
        the Results Are In 

When the 90th State Legislature convenes on Tuesday, January 3, 2017, 
there will be 23 new legislative members. Republicans enlarged their 
control of the Minnesota House of Representatives and gained control of 
the Minnesota Senate for the first time since 2011-12. 

The Legislative Action Coalition (LAC) is looking forward to working with each of our newly elected School Board Members and State Legislators. 
We are grateful to all the candidates who ran for elected offices for their commitment and willingness to serve our community.

School Board Members Re-Elected
Congratulations to Helen Bassett, Sherry Tyrrell and John Vento for their
re-election to the Robbinsdale Area School Board!

Sherry Tyrrell  
Helen Bassett     
John Vento      
Andrea Bejarano-Robinson 
Aaron Carlson 
19,906 Votes